Tuesday, April 14,2015 11:00am.
Conrad Prebys Concert Hall


Elliott Carter: Statement – Remembering Aaron (1999) for solo violin (from Four Lauds)

John Rodgers: Duet (1995) for violin and bass clarinet

Anthony Burr and Erkki Veltheim: Improvisation

Morton Feldman: For Aaron Copland (1981) for solo violin

Anthony Pateras: Rules of Extraction (2015) for violin and electronics (World premiere)

Iannis Xenakis: Mikka (1971) and Mikka 'S' (1976) for solo violin

Erkki Veltheim: Turing Test (2014) for improviser and electronics


Erkki Veltheim is a musician and interdisciplinary artist. He has performed as a violinist/violist with ensembles such as the Australian Art Orchestra, Australian Chamber Orchestra, Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, Elision, Ensemble Modern and Ensemble musikFabrik, and has also featured as a soloist with the London Sinfonietta, Melbourne Symphony Orchestra and Opera Australia. As an improviser he has worked with Australia's leading practitioners, including Anthony Pateras, John Rodgers, Jon Rose, Scott Tinkler and Tony Buck, and has also performed with the Dutch drummer Han Bennink and American trumpeter Wadada Leo Smith. Erkki has been commissioned by the Adelaide Festival, Vivid Festival (Sydney) and the New Music Network, and his compositions have been performed by ensembles such as the London Sinfonietta, Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, Soundstream Collective and Sydney Symphony Orchestra. He has also performed with and composed arrangements for artists across various genres, including many prominent indigenous Australian traditional musicians and singer-songwriters. Erkki's interdisciplinary performance and installation works explore the role of sound and music in language, communication, social exchange and ritual, and vice versa, and he frequently collaborates with the artist Sabina Maselli on audiovisual performance and expanded cinema projects. Erkki is an Artistic Associate of Chamber Made Opera, a Melbourne-based contemporary opera company.

UC San Diego
Division of Arts & Humanities